BlackletterCalifornia law

Education Code § 52613

ARTICLE 6. Finances

Current as of September 28, 2026 · version in force not statedEd. Code, § 52613Official source ↗

Amended (as added by Stats. 1987, Ch. 318, Sec. 3) by Stats. 2021, Ch. 296, Sec. 18. (AB 1096) Effective January 1, 2022. Superseded by amendment by Stats. 2017, Ch. 69, only if it becomes operative on or before January 20, 2017.

The Legislature's export lists more than one version of this section and does not state which is in force on September 28, 2026. All versions are shown below. Check the official source.

(a) Notwithstanding any section to the contrary, each governing board of a school district maintaining classes for adults that issues a Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant (F-1) Student Status - For Academic and Language Students, Form I-20AB, or completes Form I-20AB for a person described in subparagraph (F)(i) of paragraph (15) of subsection (a) of Section 1101 of Title 8 of the United States Code, for the purposes of enrolling that person in a class in English and citizenship for foreigners or a class in an elementary subject, shall charge that person a fee to cover the full costs of instruction, but in no case shall the fee exceed the actual cost of the instruction. The fee shall be adopted at a regular meeting of the governing board of each of these school districts maintaining classes for adults at least 90 days prior to the commencement of the classes for which the fee is charged.

(b) No district maintaining classes for adults shall include the attendance of F-1 visa students enrolled in a class in English and citizenship for foreigners or in a class in elementary subjects for apportionment purposes.

Other version (effective January 1, 2017): status not stated in the export

Amended by Stats. 2016, Ch. 69, Sec. 5. (AB 1850) Effective January 1, 2017. Operative only if the condition in Sec. 10 of Ch. 69 is satisfied on or before January 20, 2017.

(a) Notwithstanding any section to the contrary, each governing board of a school district maintaining classes for adults that issues a Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant (F-1) Student Status - For Academic and Language Students, Form I-20AB, or completes Form I-20AB for a nonimmigrant foreign national, as defined in subparagraph (F)(i) of paragraph (15) of subsection (a) of Section 1101 of Title 8 of the United States Code, for the purposes of enrolling the nonimmigrant foreign national in a class in English and citizenship for foreigners or a class in an elementary subject, shall charge the nonimmigrant foreign national a fee to cover the full costs of instruction, but in no case shall the fee exceed the actual cost of the instruction. The fee shall be adopted at a regular meeting of the governing board of each of these school districts maintaining classes for adults at least 90 days before the commencement of the classes for which the fee is charged.

(b) No school district maintaining classes for adults shall include the attendance of F-1 visa students enrolled in a class in English and citizenship for foreigners or in a class in elementary subjects for apportionment purposes.